The Courthouse was built in 1801 on the commission of Lord Headfort. It was designed by the prominent Irish architect, Francis Johnston who also designed the General Post Office, Nelson’s Pillar, Townley Hall and the East Gate entrance to Slane Castle. When first built the downstairs was used as a courthouse and upstairs for entertaining local residents. In more recent years it was a local library.
Today it has a much more modern interior with Interactive multimedia touch screens, with video engages to inspire visitors to the exhibition to explore Kells and the surrounding Boyne Valley. A facsimile copy of the Book of Kells, a replica of the Kells Crozier (an elaborately decorated staff that was a symbol of the office of a bishop or abbot), and the Kells town model are all on view and Boyne Valley Tourism staff are on hand to give advice.
The exhibition is FREE to visit and fully accessible to wheelchair users. Drop in for free brochures, information and a friendly chat.
Reopening 1 June 2021
- Tues- Fri: 9:00am – 5:00pm (closed for lunch 1:30-2:00pm)
- Saturday: 9:00am – 4:00pm (closed for lunch 1:30-2:00pm)
Walking tours of Kells
Free walking tours are available in Kells.Please click here for more details.
St. Colmcilles House
St. Colmcilles House is also open for visitors upon (please contact the Courthouse beforehand to arrange a visit and give 24hrs notice)
Kells Courthouse Tourism and Cultural Hub Headfort Rd Kells, Co. Meath A82 RY62 (located opposite the Market Cross as one enters Kells from the Navan or Slane road)
Kells Courthouse Tourism and Cultural Hub c/o Kells MD Offices Headfort Place Kells, Co. Meath